Marvel’s ‘Loki’ sequence will debut on Disney + June 11th

Favorite Marvel villain Loki will debut on Disney + June 11th.

The long-awaited “Loki” series, which takes place after the events of “Avengers: Endgame,” stars Tom Hiddleston in the title role and will feature Owen Wilson.

The series focuses on an alternate version of Loki who escaped the Avengers imprisonment during her attempted “time robbery”. The main iteration of the character was killed by Thanos in the early minutes of Avengers: Infinity War.

Loki, Thor’s adoptive brother, has been an integral part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe since the first “Thor” film was made in 2011. He started a villain who wanted to destroy his brother and enslave the earth out of jealousy and ambition. However, over the course of a decade of films, the character became more of an antihero and had been redeemed for his previous actions before his death in “Infinity War”.

In “Loki” of the series, the character transforms back into his villainous roots. After breaking away from the official timeline, the Loki audiences will see is fresh from his defeat in the first “Avengers” movie, in which he led an alien army into battle in New York City for the To become ruler of the planet.

The series is expected to have six episodes and will follow this new Loki when he encounters the Time Variance Authority (TVA), an organization that oversees the multiverse. The show has been dubbed a “crime thriller” and early teaser trailers show how Loki ravages the universe.

A second season is already in development.

“Loki” will appear in weekly installments like “The Mandalorian” and “WandaVision”.

Those weekly episode drops were a smart move for Disney. Not only do subscribers stay logged in longer if they want to watch an entire series, they also turn every episode of the series into an event.

For example, on Netflix, subscribers would only have to wait a few seconds to watch the next episode. On Disney + they had several days to theorize and interact with the rest of the fandom on social media.

This method has been shown to be effective in both “The Mandalorian” and “WandaVision”. Marvel fans have been eagerly awaiting each new episode of the series, spending hours looking for Easter eggs in previous episodes and figuring out where the series is going.

Marvel has been drawing attention to the expansion of the Multiverse since it was announced that the sequel to Doctor Strange at Marvel’s 2019 San Diego Comic-Con will be titled Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness.

The Marvel Multiverse is just a fancy way of saying a collection of alternate universes. They are similar to each other, but with slight differences. It’s a very popular concept in comics as it allows writers to reinvent characters and storylines for new generations.

Disney has already confirmed that Jamie Foxx will return as Electro from “The Amazing Spider-Man 2”, in which Andrew Garfield appeared as Spider-Man. And Alfred Molina, who portrayed Doctor Octopus as the famous Webslinger during Tobey Maguire’s play, is also confirmed in the third Spider-Man film with Tom Holland.

The Disney + series “WandaVision”, which went live in January, has also begun exploring the idea of ​​the multiverse.

The show features Wanda’s late brother Pietro, but he is not played by the Marvel Cinematic Universe actor Aaron Taylor-Johnson, who portrayed the character in Age of Ultron. Instead, it’s Evan Peters who starred Quicksilver in several X-Men films that were owned by 20th Century Fox until 2019.

Disney’s television series, which debuted on the streaming service, is having a direct impact on the larger theatrical universe of Marvel movies, said studio director Kevin Feige.

Feige has a total of 10 Disney + shows planned over the next few years, including Jeremy Renner’s “Hawkeye” with Hailee Steinfeld as Kate Bishop; “She Hulk” with Tatiana Maslany; and “Moon Knight” with Star Wars alum Oscar Isaac.

Here is a list of upcoming Marvel projects in television and film:

  • “WandaVision” – January 15, 2021 on Disney +
  • “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” – March 19, 2021 on Disney +
  • “Black Widow” – May 7, 2021
  • “Loki” – June 11, 2021 on Disney +
  • “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings” – July 9, 2021
  • “Eternals” – November 5th, 2021
  • “Spider-Man: No Way Home” – December 17, 2021
  • “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness” – March 25, 2022
  • “Thor: Love and Thunder” – May 6, 2022
  • “Black Panther 2” – July 8, 2022
  • “Captain Marvel 2” – November 11, 2022

There are a number of films and series for which no official release dates are currently available. “Hawkeye”, “Ms. Marvel” and “What if …?” Disney + shows are expected to be released in 2021. Meanwhile, “Moon Knight”, “She-Hulk”, “The Guardians of the Galaxy”, “Secret Invasion”, “Ironheart”, “Armor Wars” and an untitled series set in Wakanda are slated for 2022 and beyond.

A third film about ant people and wasps is planned for 2022, and a third film about Gurdians of the Galaxy is planned for 2023. Films around Blade and the Fantastic Four are also in the works.

You might also like

Comments are closed.